And I Remember

22 05 2017

This poem was written by my son, Alex, when he was 13. It recounts his memory of when he was a much shorter human

 

And I remember

Standing

In the harbour

On and island

Standing and waiting

With my mom at the age of three for the boat

The boat that had my dad

My dad was coming home

 

And I remember

Walking

As a little boy walking to my dad

In the harbour

Walking on the walkway

But careful not to slip

 

And I remember

Running

To the ship on the smooth path

Running past the crashing waves

Running to the ship that rose

Like a steel fortress

 

And I remember

Breathing

The smell of sand washed ashore

Breathing the scent of smelly paint

The scent of wet paint on the ship just painted

 

Yes and I remember

Thinking

This is my dad this is my dad

This warmth of his hug

Car

Road

And home

Is mine

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

