The Holy Place (part II)

24 02 2015

Sometimes you just have to be prepared for all of the stupid to happen again.

If you have not already done so, please have a read of The Holy Place. This will provide you with some much need backstory.

I joined the Canadian Armed Forces in 1987. At that time I signed on for an initial term of 3 years and was told that if I served 20 years I would be granted a pension. I did my time at CFB Cornwallis (basic recruit school), graduated from my trade course and was posted to my first ship. As required by my trade, I worked diligently to obtain my Top Secret security clearance. After a bit of a mess up, I was deemed worthy to be in the Holy Place. All was good.

At the close of my 3 year contract I decided that this really was the life for me so when they came to me and asked, I said “20 years please”. They presented the paper, I signed and that was it. I was a career sailor. Part of that career was that I had to redo my security paperwork every 5 years —eh, whatever. I did the paperwork at year 5 and year 10 and all was good. Along about year 13, one of my superiors did something so completely assine that seriously had to restrain myself from doing something that would have gotten me a stay at CFB Edmonton – the military prison. I spent a while decideing that they best thing for me to do would be to take my leave of the navy and try out being a civilian again.

After spending three years as a civilian, I decided that I really wanted that pension so I joined back up. As I was already a fully trained sailor, complete with the trade qualifications and the navy was specifically looking for people of my trade I thought this would be a relatively short and painless exercise. I went in and filled out all of the paperwork again, including the massive chunk of paper for my security clearance and then I waited. It took them 13 months – so  much for relatively short and painless, ah well, that is another story for another time.

I was back. The uniform, the haircut, the awesomeness, all of it. I was posted to a ship and sent to the holy place, secure in the knowledge that all was good with the world. I spent 3 years aboard HMCS Vancouver, one of the “new” Canadian Patrol Frigates. A really decent ship, my mess deck had only 12 people in it instead of the 56 on the Quappelle – the food hadn’t changed all that much but really, somethings are never going to change. It was going to be steak on Thursday, fish on Friday and a mystery for the rest of the week.

I left the Vancouver to be sent to the communications hub for the west coast. I was in the middle of everything and boy was it ever cool, until about a year later. The security guy called me into his office and said those magic words….Where is your security clearance?”

Hmmm, let me see. I have been in the Holy Place of Vancouver for 3 years, in the communications hub for the west coast for a year and only now is someone questioning where my security clearance is? With the advent of computers and databases and and and, one would think that keeping track of such things would be a bit more efficient, apparently not. The security guy and I marched over the the MP shack and had a look at my securtiy work. My file was pulled up and I was told that I was divorced and had no children.

Well, that was a surprise. I called up my wife and told her that we had gotten divorced and that our two children did not exist. Boy was she surprised, our two children were as well. For non existent people, they were looking pretty good.

Ah well, a little bit of electronic amendments and I was once again deemed worthy to be in the Holy Place.

Then I retired, my Top Secret clearance firmly in place. I went to take a job with a Reserve billit and guess what, I had to do it all over again….

But that is another story

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

